Double GB support for Sports Award winners

Guests at this year’s annual Sports Award Evening could be forgiven for thinking they were seeing double when the guest speakers took to the stage to present the prizes.

Twin GB athletes Lina and Laviai Nielsen were the guests of honour for the evening, held to recognise and celebrate the commitment, effort and sporting success of students in both individual and team activities for the academic year 2015 – 2016.

Widely regarded as the future of British 400m running, the sisters delivered an inspirational two-handed speech about the highs and lows of their career to date, including sharing the podium at the European championships but narrowly missing out on Olympic selection for Rio. Lina and Laviai advised the aspiring athletes in the audience to believe in themselves and never be afraid to go for something as you never know what you could be good at until you try.

Students were invited to attend the evening based on the following criteria:-

  • Excellent commitment to extra-curricular activities
  • Has represented the school regularly in one or more activities
  • Has performed to a high standard in one or more activities
  • Has achieved sporting excellence such as reaching county or regional level in one or more activities

The evening provided an opportunity for students to socialise and celebrate their sporting success and commitment with an array of awards being handed out throughout the evening for both individual and team successes/commitment.  It also encouraged students to maintain their effort and enthusiasm for sport and physical activity for the upcoming academic year.

The winners included many all-round athletes and a wide range of sports from fencing to dance.  The team prize went to the newest school team – the rowing team – who have shown exceptional commitment in getting to competitive level without any previous experience.

Here is the full list of winners:-

AwardKS3 winnerKS4 winner
Fencer of the YearAnya Travassos
Trampolinist of the YearTianna Goulbourne
Runner of the YearEllie Osmond
Outstanding Commitment

Charlotte Nevrkla-Wood

Sophie Harris

Nina Mattinson

Greta Burton

Chloe Harris
Team of the YearRowing
All round Sportswoman of the YearSophie HarrisLaure Denaro
Elite performer of the yearFrances NeweAlly Housley
Positive AttitudeAmelia EnglishPheobe Emburey
ProgressGreat BurtonEmily Rea (Shumi)
LeadershipEsme Burke
TeamworkYear 8 A Netball team

More news


Junior School warms to cross country challenge